More Than Just Another Hoop

My RSD project will serve students in my Honors SPCOM/Speech 100: Fundamentals of Speech course. I typically teach two sections (48 students) per semester. However, I frequently use these classes to pilot new assigned and pedagogical strategies before expanding their use to our basic SPCOM 100 course (which is required for all UW-Stout students). If my pilot works well, I intend to share these strategies with other colleagues teaching the course.

Like Kate, I want to help my students better understand the research process by doing a better job of unpacking it and staging it across the term. This goal came from a recent classroom epiphany: Why do I require students to do a research-intensive speech immediately in the semester? Could I get better quality speeches from my students by first helping them understand why research gives them an important set of tools for informing their work – not just in my class, but in other courses and the workplace? Can I help them see it as something more than just another hoop to jump through? I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes!

One thought on “More Than Just Another Hoop”

  1. ‘Can I help them see it as something more than just another hoop to jump through?’ Yes, that genuine, active cognitive engagement by students is a huge challenge. In Australia, it may be that some students are encountering research assessments so often, that they are turning off and/or not seeing real development of skills, and faculty don’t have the course time to scaffold the development of skills. As a US Physiologist Chaplin said, without adequate structure and guidance students are at risk in their third year of university of engaging in unstructured research tasks with the ‘same degree of sophistication as in their first year’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

